Bridget Jones's Diary: A Novel by Helen Fielding

British author Helen Fielding brought chick-lit to the masses with her 1996 novel Bridget Jones's Diary. The story is recognized as a landmark in modern publishing and paved the way for an entire genre of books like The Devil Wears Prada, The Nanny Diaries, and Confessions of a Shopaholic. Critics and readers responded positively to Fielding's depiction of an independent, modern woman in her mid-thirties through her intimate personal diary entries. In 1998, Bridget Jones's Diary was recognized as the British Book of the Year.

Loud, vulgar, and unapologetic, Bridget's twenty-first-century voice was relatable to audiences on both sides of the Atlantic. Structured as a series of private diary entries, she details her daily ruminations around such topics as finding love, losing weight, and personal grooming. More than just these cosmetic concerns, the novel approached romance and dating in a decidedly postfeminist way. Three sequels followed, including Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason (1999), Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy (2013), and Bridget Jones's Baby: The Diaries, which was released in 2016. Fueled by the oversized popularity and cultural significance of the story, Fielding was listed as the 29th most influential person in British culture in a 2004 BBC poll.  

Three film adaptations were released after the publication of the novels and starred Hugh Grant, Colin Firth, and Renee Zellweger. In 2001, Zellweger was nominated for an Academy Award for her performance. While Bridget's concerns and flaws may skew slightly female in terms of relatability, this book is certainly not just for one type of reader or audience. As Salmon Rushdie is quoted on the book jacket, "Even men will laugh." 

Item Categories:

All Categories

Related Items

90s Star Border